I passed a small milestone yesterday - I completed my second consecutive three-run-week in about two years. I really had fun in all three runs too, which also hasn't happened for a while. The milestone is for the second week, not the first, just in case the first one was a not-to-be-repeated-for-months fluke. But it wasn't, hurray! Now I just have to keep it up, eek....
Anyway, here are those all important stats.
Tuesday 15th: 7.77km, 51:56
Thursday 17th: 4.03km, 23:59
Sunday 20th: 6.06km, 38.40
Total for week: 17.87km, average pace 6:25/km
I'm feeling pretty pleased with myself. I haven't felt like a 'runner' in ages, but I've been progressing steadily (if slowly) since January, and now that I'm up to running three times a week I feel much closer to being able to say I'm a runner without feeling like a fraud.
Another thing that will help me shake off the creepy conman feeling is passing the 250km mark on Nike Plus. I use a little gizmo that plugs into my ipod to track the length and times of runs, then my ipod sticks them on the Nike Plus website. Clever eh? Anyway, the website has different levels depending on how far you've run. I'm on orange level at the moment, but am only 26km away from 250k and moving up to level green! Getting away from the nasty orange background will be wonderful, and I'll feel a lot less like a newbie.

My other off-the-couch activity yesterday didn't go quite so well. I attempted to make some shortbread biscuits last weekend, but the recipe was a bit off so I didn't put enough butter in, but realised too late, and ending up having to stick an egg in instead. Hence rather cakey biscuits. Last night I had another go - I've decided I really want some shortbread, no matter how long it takes! They didn't go to plan either. Straight after last night 's run I huffed and puffed and probably dripped sweat around the supermarket downstairs before they shut to grab some butter for the next batch, much to the amusement/horror of the staff. However, in my haste I forgot to get more flour. I did remember shower gel, but obviously not much use for biscuits. So this time I ended up with too much butter. See the oily results for yourself:
Bit of a baking fail. They look much better than last time, but don't be fooled, they are greasy and hard as rocks! Maybe next weekend I'll get it right...
No comments:
Post a Comment