Anyway, back to the aren't-I-great bit. I went out on Tuesday (with the boyfriend's headphones) with the intention of getting to 5k without stopping, but not really thinking I would do it. It's ridiculously hot now, and I'm feeling a bit lazy. At the start it was fairly grim, especially the bit where I have to go up and down some stairs to get around a blocked-off car park (no idea why it's blocked off though, you can access it the other way, it's not keeping anyone out of anywhere, and serves no purpose I can see except inconveniencing me!), but I managed to keep going through being tired and a horrible stitch to finish at 5.1km, average pace 6:01/k, and it was ALL running. Whoo! So we celebrated with Domino's 2 for 1 pizza, not the healthiest of choices...
Today was even better - I've been reading John Galloway's ideas about run/walking, and decided to try shorter run bits with shorter breaks between them, ending up with around 4 minutes 30 running followed by about a minute walking. My legs felt like lead, my knees were screaming (but I think mostly from wearing my work sandals too many days in a row) and it was even hotter than Tuesday, but there was still a bit of enjoyment there. And I didn't get angry at all the people on motorbikes trying to kill me. Except one, but he was running a red light, so he deserved it. It was a bit of a plod, but I got back eventually at 10.12k in 65:42. Oh, and I have new headphones. Cheap £2 'Sony' ones from a backpacker shop in town, sound a bit weird, but they'll do.
I'm really rather chuffed with myself, as it's the first time I've managed either of these workouts since before I started running again in January, and the first time in about a year if treadmills aren't counted (and I think they're cheating a bit, so no, they don't count). I'm going to reward myself by watching sci-fi and trying not to get too used to all the milestones!
No comments:
Post a Comment