Tales of my attempts to run in the heat and humidity of Saigon, and other reasons to get off the couch.

Friday, April 22, 2011

Visitors, Registration, and Morning FAIL!

A few bits and pieces of news for you, let's go with the good news first. 

First up, I've had visitors! Two other bloggers, Zaneta and Tricia stopped by yesterday and left comments. I'm officially not talking to myself, yay! They also said nice encouraging things, and I definitely need the motivation at the moment, so that made me feel better. It's also really good to have comments because I don't really have anyone around that runs, so it's a bit of a replacement for running buddies. 

Another piece of good news is that I've finally managed to register for the race, huzzah! No watching for the sidelines for me, no no no. Probably watching people cruise past me still, but at least I'll hopefully be moving in the same direction. One nice touch is that they put your name on your bib - I don't know if it'll be big enough for people to see, but being alone, it'll be nice if someone screams my name to spur me on. Only 64 days to go!


Of course, if there's good news, there has to be bad news to balance it out (boo world!!). To counter out the nice things, I've had a bit of a running fail. Actually, quite a muscle-screaming, knees-complaining, wheels-off fail. My long run was scheduled for last night, but I was so ridiculously exhausted yesterday that I decided my body was telling me to lie on the couch all night. It was quite nice, watched a bit of a geeky documentary and a bit of cycling, and got to bed fairly early. Good plan so far. Didn't last long though. To make up for being pathetic, I dragged myself out of bed at 6.30 this morning, intending to do another speed session. I figured I'd have an easy warm up to get the legs going, then knock out a few reps. Not to plan. It was hideous from about step 15 (and only then because I saw a colleague before then, so made an effort to look spritely. Doubt it worked.). The wheels never got on, let alone having the chance to come off. I forced myself around for just under 4 km at a grandmother shuffle-pace, got pointed and laughed at by all the construction workers and drinks vendors, sweated everywhere and eventually crawled home feeling like crap. FAIL!



Evidence of my patheticness. Hmph. 

No comments:

Post a Comment